Uninsured Motorist Statistics for 2019: Growth of Uninsured Drivers by State
According to the latest available data, about 13 percent of drivers in the US do not have insurance. This is despite the fact that car insurance is a fundamental requirement for vehicle registration purposes in almost all states. The percentage of uninsured drivers in the US varies from state to state. In Florida, for example, it is at a staggering 26.7 percent. Maine has one of the lowest rates of uninsured drivers in the US at only 4.5 percent. All over the country, there are close to 215 million drivers carrying car insurance. Unfortunately, there are also about 32 million drivers taking to the roads without any coverage. To address the issue, Florida insurance companies sell additional auto insurance coverage which can protect your family in the event you or a loved one is a victim to a car accident caused by an uninsured driver.
Uninsured Motorist Percentages Nationwide by Year
On a national scale, there is a decreasing trend in the percentage of uninsured motorists. In 2003, the rate was at 14.9 percent. In 2015, the figure stood at 13 percent. Experts based the estimates on the ratio of bodily injury insurance claims to uninsured motorist insurance claims. The following is the percentage of uninsured motorists nationwide in 3-year increments.
- 2003 – 14.9 percent
- 2006 – 14.3 percent
- 2009 – 13.8 percent
- 2012 – 12.6 percent
- 2015 – 13.0 percent
Percentage of Uninsured Motorists by State
The latest available data reveals that the state of Florida has the highest rate of uninsured drivers or motorists at 26.7 percent. This number is significantly higher than the national average which makes driving in Florida a risky proposition if you choose not to purchase “uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage.”
The following is the ranking of the states, from the highest to the lowest rate of uninsured motorists:
|State||Rank||2015 UM Rate||2009 UM Rate||% Difference|
|District of Columbia||10||15.6%||15.0%||0.6%|
How about Insured Drivers with Basic Coverage
Unfortunately, in Florida, auto insurance requirements are very limited and not always helpful for auto accident victims. As it relates to personal injuries, Florida law only requires drivers to maintain $10,000 of Personal Injury Protection (PIP) benefits. The PIP benefits work similar to health insurance and only cover the named insured on the policy or their resident relatives. The PIP benefits are NOT designed to work as liability coverage and won’t be paid out to injured third-parties. This means if you are the victim of a car accident and the at-fault party only maintains the basic PIP coverage, the at-fault driver’s insurance will not compensate you for any of your injuries.
The moral of the story is, driving in FL is a financially risky proposition as compared to other states. Over 25% of our drivers have no insurance. On top of that, even those drivers who carry insurance, it is very possible the insurance is so basic and minimal that no compensation will come your way from the at-fault driver.
Recourse for Getting Hit by an Uninsured Driver or a Driver with Basic Coverage
Drivers who get apprehended for driving without valid car insurance can face various consequences. Unfortunately, none of the consequences are severe and none of the consequences are actually a benefit to the crash victim. For example, in FL, an uninsured driver may lose their license or be required to pay fines and penalties. However, that does little to help the victim of the accident pay for their medicals bills or fix their vehicle. The accident victim does have the right to personally sue the uninsured motorist in court. However, we typically find the drivers who can’t afford to purchase insurance have limited financial resources and are not worth pursuing in court since they are not collectible defendants.
Protect Yourself with Uninsured Motorist Insurance
You have the power to purchase insurance coverage to ensure your family is financially protected in the event you or a loved one falls victim to an accident caused by an uninsured driver. Most reputable auto insurance carriers sell “uninsured and underinsured motorist insurance.” This insurance coverage will effectively stand in the shoes of the uninsured at-fault driver and compensate you for injuries and damages that would otherwise be owed to you by the at-fault driver’s insurance company. Considering the high cost of medicine these days, our law firm recommends purchasing at least $100,000 of uninsured and underinsured motorist coverage.
It is also important to note, your insurance company plays an adversarial role when paying out underinsured motorist damages to you. Your insurance company will effectively defend the uninsured driver’s position on the case thereby limiting the amount of money that will be paid out on the claim.
If you are pursuing an uninsured motorist claim, it is important to contact an experienced car accident attorney to help protect your rights. At the Law Offices of Aronberg, Aronberg, & Green, we prosecute uninsured motorist claims on a daily basis. We love speaking with prospective clients and are happy to offer you a free consultation. Please call us at 561-266-9191.